Monday, September 14, 2015

August Reads

Even though my vision problems have slowed down my reading I'm still finding wonderful escapes in which to immerse myself. Here's what I read in August.



Loved the adventure SF of Time Salvager, reminded me of a long ago read John Varley novel, the title of which escapes me now. Liked the quantum possibilities in The Bookseller which brought to mind Jo Walton's My Real Children. The Denver setting was wonderful to read. Black-Eyed Susans was a riveting thriller. Looking forward to it making its way back to the New Castle Branch Library so I can put it on the Killer Thrillers display. I listened to All Involved and it is amazing as an audio book. Radiance and Swords and Scoundrels, I reviewed for Booklist so please look there for my reviews.  The only YA title I read last month was David Lubar's Sophomores and Other Oxymorons, great fun for lovers of language. The Wild Inside is a grisly murder mystery that should appeal to fans of C.J. Box and Nevada Barr. I love the humor of Martin Millar so The Goddess of Buttercups and Daisies was a real treat. It's different that his wonderful werewolf series but still laugh out loud funny. I've been recommending it to fans of Christopher Moore.